I Don’t Even Care PopSci. Martian Astronaut Barbie is Fucking Awesome!

Dear Popular Science:

re:  This article:  http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2013-08/8-pieces-advice-mars-bound-barbie

Why you gotta be like that?

–cookies&whiskey

**PreWarning:  this post may make little sense as it was spontaneously written while internet binging at a  Starbucks because apparently it takes two weeks to flip my internet from my old apartment to my new place, 2 miles away.***

Barbie_3

I am a space nerd.  And a feminist.  So imagine my glee when I saw that Barbie is going to Mars!  I mean that like, in all honesty.  I was never a Barbie kid (except when they were playing Jerry Springer because my best friend had like 1000 Barbies and 1 Ken, and it was the 90s, so, you know).  But really!  Barbie has been just about everything and I think that’s cool.  I’ll set aside beauty politics and s, hit, part of the reason I don’t really like dolls anyway.  But she been everything from Scientist to President to School Teacher with nothing really off limits, and that’s fucking cool.

barbie-careerspres barbie

So now she’s a Mars Astronaut!  Whaaatt!  I’m buying her.  I don’t care.  Fuck you guys.  Martian Astronaut Barbie is a go!  She will sit next to my Martian Manhunter and Mars Attacks Martian Commander.  Because that’s fucking cool.

Yes, I think she would fit nicely here.

Yes, I think she would fit nicely here.

I found out about this through Popular Science.  Scrolling through my news app on my phone, (because AT&T sucks and takes 12 days to transfer your internet after you move!) I came across the article.  I got all excited.  Then I made the mistake of reading the article.  I have no delusions that sexism still reigns supreme in the world of science and science fiction, although we are tearing it apart piece by piece.  But this was seriously the most condescending thing ever written.  Everything is about make-up, fashion, being a woman in space.  To be honest, I was waiting for them to mention what she should do when she gets her period.  Why?  Why?  Of all the things you could say and cover in this article, you are only going to talk about Martian skin care routines?  And worse, you talk about it like girls are fucking idiots and that is all they care about.  The article was insulting.  You really disappointed me on this one PopSci.

This was a wasted opportunity to get more young girls interested in science.   Talk about getting your daughter (or son, but for some reason boys with dolls is still taboo) this doll and pretending to be an astronaut, going on dangerous and exciting space missions!  Talk about what she might investigate and discover while on Mars!  Maybe, in some kid’s imagination Barbie finds flowing water or lost civilizations on the Red Planet!  Rather than worrying about the SPF of her moisturizer.  This, my friends, is how we ingrain sexism into children and adults alike, by writing shit like this and thinking it is normal and okay.  By mocking this toy in the way that they did, consumers will now scoff at it.  Their article reinforces negative stereotypes about women, the very same stereotypes that feed inequalityBarbie_2.

I am certain that people are like “Dude, it’s Barbie.  It’s what Barbie does, hair and makeup. Chill the fuck out.”  And I know that it’s Barbie.  But I think girls are capable of playing with more than hair and makeup and babysitting and taking care of babies if you let them.  I hate girl toys because they so often only reinforce these few things.  Here we have MARS EXPLORER BARBIE!  She needs nothing to do with those stereotypes, yet you force them on her.  You try to remove stereotypes from a toy and they are forced onto the toy anyway.  And yes, I get the article was supposed to be cute and funny.  But, as a nerd girl who played with army men and built Lego space stations, it’s annoying and exhausting.

This gif is dedicated to Boyfriend.  The #1 supporter of my rants.

This gif is dedicated to Boyfriend. The #1 supporter of my rants.

Leave a Reply

