Stop Stealing My Nerdom!

Just a quick comment on one thing that I hate:

When the mainstream culture takes things I love from me.

Image

I’m a big nerd. Specifically, a space nerd.  I often share with my bar friends and/or grad school colleagues random trivia about recent finds in space, genetics, neuro-junk, or sci-fi fun stuff.  Usually I am met with “uh huh” and they walk away.  I tried to share a random factoid about mirror neurons with a bartender friend and he just walked away.  (I swear I’m not Asp-y.  I thought it was a cool thing, he just sucks.)

Anyway, I have my interests and I think they’re awesome.  I’m actually okay with the fact that most people think I’m a weirdo.  It’s like a special weird little world that only I get to live in and no one else is cool enough to find.

But every once in a while something I love becomes mainstream and it’s a big deal and my strange little world is invaded.  Case:  Neil deGrasse Tyson is lecturing near my hometown in the next few days (I no longer live there, but I’m a bit of a facebook stalker) and suddenly all of the people that thought I was a weirdo in high school when I tried to tell them Pluto wasn’t a planet and if they fell into a black hole they would bifurcate to death think he’s the coolest thing ever.  I love Tyson and I’m glad people have an interest in science.  I can’t really explain it, but I do feel my weirdo world is being invaded.

Image

Maybe it is because I don’t want to be seen as just a part of that fad.  A few weeks ago I read that Art- Deco and 1920’s style was coming back.  This was after I had made a tattoo appointment for a deco-style city skyline because I have always loved that style and thought it would be beautiful.  I still got the tattoo (cause I’m still awesome despite fads), but it did make me question it for a second.  I don’t want to look like one of those idiots with the mustache tattoo.

(So much cooler)

(So much cooler…)

(...than this)

(…than this)

(This excludes the recent Bowie fanfare in preparation for his new album.  He has always been a pop star and media sensation.  I’m just lucky enough to appreciate and be a part of his fanfare)

One Response to Stop Stealing My Nerdom!

  1. Ryan says:

    Preach it, sister.

Leave a Reply

