OMG! It’s the end of the world!

I will be back in full force with the 13th Baktun or the 5th world or the rapture, whatever you call it.

13baktunscycle5zv8

Personally, I’m hoping for a Robot Apocalypse.  But I’ve been hoping for that since I was 10.

robot-movie

Oh, but I will comment to the people who are apparently so terrified or ignorant they feel the need to rationalize and say the Mayan 12/21/12 didn’t account for leap years:  You’re idiots.  It was based on a different system of time.  You’re idiots.  Shut up when you don’t know what you’re talking about.  The Mayan calendar is based on a number of days, not a number of years.  This guy explains it better, if you care at all: http://jameswatt.me/2012/03/07/mayan-calendar-and-the-gregorian-leap-year/  (sorry, this thing has been going around for months and has just been annoying.  I think because Americans tend to assume their way is the only way of doing things and everything must be compared to that way.)

To be honest.  I’m a science-y person.  I like when things are rational and logical.  The 2012 Apocalypse is not rational or logical.  But, reflecting on how we’ve learned to kill with such ease and grace and yet education and employment are so fucking difficult for us…well, I hope someone takes this realization into the dawning of a  new age.

Better posts to come.

2 Responses to OMG! It’s the end of the world!

  1. amatorium says:

    My other favorite thing is how Americans like to be like, “Hurr hurr well how stupid are they?? Their culture hasn’t even survived,” when the truth of the matter is more than Mayan culture as a dominant one hasn’t survived, no, but there are still plenty of people in South America who are Maya descendants and who very much still consider themselves as such. So painting it as this immensely primitive idea from a dead culture is almost absurdly offensive and openly bigoted. Social science nerdery!

  2. My favorite comment on the subject was something to the effect of “well most Mayans are Christian converts now…”
    *gouging my eyes out*

Leave a Reply

